History

In 1923, a group of men organized a golf club, calling it “Fair Acres.” This nine-hole club was nestled among the giant oaks of South Moline Township. In a span of six years the club grew to almost two hundred members. At the 1929 annual meeting, it was decided to incorporate under the name “Oakwood Country Club.”

The club remained at this location for many years, until it became imminent that Interstate 74 was to be built directly through the property. Land was purchased in Henry County in 1962, and construction of the Pete Dye design, 18-hole golf course began in June of 1965. Play began on the course on May 21, 1967. The course featured tough par 4s, reachable par 5s, and green designs that would test your short game. The clubhouse was completed September 1, 1968.

Oakwood Golf Course Sign

Significant changes were made to the course in the late 1970s, when the club began its 24-year run hosting PGA Tour events, which included the Quad City Open, the Hardee’s Golf Classic, the Quad City Classic, and the John Deere Classic. The tees were moved further back, bunkers were added, and the driving range leveled to make it the finest practice facility in the Quad Cities.

Today, improvements continue. Greens were re-seeded with A-4 bent grass in 2001 and the fairways were re-seeded with Memorial bent grass in 2008. The clubhouse was renovated in 2009, featuring an expanded horseshoe bar area, casual and formal dining areas, and a beautiful large patio area overlooking the 18th green. The result is a golf course that is notable for its natural beauty, and it continues to receive applause for its playing characteristics.

The dreams and ambition of a few young men many years ago have helped shape the present day Oakwood Country Club into a premier club in the Quad Cities.